What Are The 7 Stages Of Frontotemporal Dementia
Written by Brian B

What Are The 7 Stages Of Frontotemporal Dementia?

Frontotemporal dementia results from damage to neurons located in the frontal and temporal lobes of the brain. Also referred to as frontotemporal disorders (FTD), symptoms of this disease include unusual behaviors, as well as emotional issues.

The 7 Stages Of Frontotemporal Dementia

Frontotemporal dementia, like most forms of dementia, will ultimately progress slowly. According to NIA.NIH.gov, this disease often affects individuals aged 40-60. Let’s look at the stages of this disease.

Stage 1. No Symptoms

Stage one will see the individual exhibit no symptoms whatsoever.

  • During stage one, the disease has not progressed to the point where any changes are noticeable.
  • Individuals will present themselves as completely healthy and normal, at this time.

Stage 2. Mild Symptoms

Mild symptoms will pop up during the second stage of this disease. Most dementia patients will experience memory problems as the first sign of the disease. However, this is not the case with frontotemporal dementia.

  • Patients may experience some slight changes in both social interactions and overall personality.
  • Symptoms are still very subtle during this stage.
  • A diagnosis may even be missed during stage two.
  • Some symptoms could simply be classified as stress.

Stage 3. Some Cognitive Issues

This stage is where cognitive issues are generally noticed by friends and family.

  • Changes can include declining social skills and use of language.
  • Functional and working memory will also begin to decline.
  • Obsessive behaviors can occur at this stage of the disease.
  • Symptoms displayed during stage three typically alarm loved ones.

Stage 4. Visible Symptoms

There is clearly something wrong with the individual at this point in time. Previously unrecognized signs are now obvious.

  • The individual will have trouble with normal, everyday interactions.
  • Language skills continue to decline.
  • A diagnosis made at this point could still be considered an ‘early onset’ diagnosis.
  • It’s possible some treatments could be provided to the individual, which may not work during later stages.

Stage 5. Full-Time Care Needed

This stage is typically considered the disease’s mid-point. The individual will ultimately need round-the-clock care at this point.

  • Language will be on a severe decline.
  • Poor social skills.
  • The individual may not react appropriately to most situations.
  • The disease really starts to accelerate during stage five.

Stage 6. Severe Cognitive Problems

Loss of bodily control, cognitive issues, and a decline in judgement will all occur during this stage.

  • Poor impulse control is another symptom experienced, which calls for the 24/7 caretaking.
  • Pronunciations issues will persist.
  • Individuals may try to completely isolate themselves.

Stage 7. Final Stage

The final stage is, unfortunately, the most difficult stage for the individual and loved ones.

  • Individuals will become withdrawn and struggle to communicate.
  • Assistance will be needed for every task.
  • Motor and verbal abilities will disappear.
  • Refusal to cooperate is quite common at this point.

About Ventana Winds

Ventana Winds Retirement Community is a member of SLS Communities and offers Assisted Living and Memory Care services In Youngtown, Arizona.

More Articles About Senior Living